#YogaAndYou - The Goal

Why should YOU do yoga?

“[The] yogic process is aimed at aligning oneself with the natural longing of life to expand in an unlimited way. It gives conscious expression to this basic human need.”

Our good friend Mr. Vasudev writes on, “…practices in the yogic sciences are intended to assist this longing on three levels: the physical body, the mental body, and… the energy body.”1 By practicing yoga, one can use the mind, body and soul to achieve optimal physical, mental and spiritual health. Yoga allows you to be your best self.

Ayurveda and Yoga are sister sciences. As such, one of their commonalities is the concept of chakras. These are mainly seven points that are located at the center of your body.

The seven chakras are:

  • Muladhara (root)

  • Svadhisthana (sacral)

  • Manipura (navel)

  • Anahata (heart)

  • Vishuddha (throat)

  • Ajna (third-eye)

  • Sahasrara (crown)

Each chakra is associated with and responsible for certain aspects in overall bodily function. Our anatomy is then further divided into 72,000 srotas, or nadis, through which lifeforce, or prana, flows. And this “inner transport system” is not limited to the blood vessels. Essentially, the quality of this complete complex network of channels determines the nature of your health.3

Ultimately, “the purpose of yoga is to activate your energy in such a way that your body consciousness is constantly being lowered, so you can sit here in the body, but are no longer the body.”1 Yoga allows us the opportunity to transcend our physical needs and look deeper within in order to better understand the world around us.

  1. Vasudev J. Inner Engineering: A Yogi’s Guide to Joy. First Edition. Spiegel & Grau; 2016.

  2. A Beginner's Guide to the 7 Chakras and Their Meanings. Natalie Butler. https://www.healthline.com/.

  3. Verma V, Gehlot S. Review on concept of srotas. Int J Res Ayurveda Pharm. 2014;5(2):232-234.

    Share Ayurverita


    'Tis the season!